30+ Mayors Sign Open Statement Supporting LGBTQ Non-Discrimination As Supreme Court Hears Oral Argument Posted on December 5, 2017

As the United States Supreme Court hears oral arguments in a landmark discrimination case that could have far-reaching consequences for LGBTQ Americans, 30+ mayors from across the country are uniting to show their support for nondiscrimination measures that ensure all Americans are treated fairly and equally.

The Masterpiece Cakeshop v. Colorado Civil Rights Commission case concerns a Colorado bakery that refused to sell a cake to a same-sex couple celebrating their civil marriage. This action was in direct violation of Colorado’s nondiscrimination law, and both the Colorado Civil Rights Commission and the state appellate court ruled in favor of the couple.

Today’s statement is the latest in a number of actions taken by mayors around the Masterpiece case. In October more than 150 mayors and municipalities representing 51 million constituents signed onto a friend-of-the-court brief in support of nondiscrimination protections – most who were activated through FFAA’s Mayors Against LGBT Discrimination program.

The mayors issued the following joint statement:

“As mayors of cities large and small, we hold a special responsibility to protect our residents and ensure their equal participation in public life. Discrimination, whatever the cause, serves no purpose but to divide our communities and we cannot allow our public square to become a place of fear, especially for marginalized communities like our lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender residents. We affirm the right of all people to be treated with respect and served on equal terms. Equality for our LGBTQ residents does not reduce our freedom of speech nor our religious expression – it enhances it.”

The full list of mayors who specifically signed the statement:

  • Kristopher Larson, Nederland CO

  • Jennifer Roberts, Charlotte NC

  • Nancy Rotering, Highland Park IL

  • John McNally, Youngstown OH

  • Victor De Luca, Maplewood Township NJ

  • Dale Berman, North Aurora IL

  • William Moehle, Brighton NY

  • John Heilman, West Hollywood CA

  • Eric Garcetti, Los Angeles CA

  • William Peduto, Pittsburgh PA

  • Jack Blalock, Portsmouth NH

  • Ray Stephanson, Everett WA

  • James Kenney, Philadelphia PA

  • Jon Mitchell, New Bedford MA

  • William Peduto, Pittsburgh PA

  • Lydia Lavelle, Carrboro NC

  • Allison Silberberg, Alexandria VA

  • Ken Miyagishima, Las Cruces NM

  • Steve Adler, Austin TX

  • Michael B. Hancock, Denver CO

  • Suzanne Jones, Boulder CO

  • John Engen, Missoula MT

  • Levar Stoney, Richmond VA

  • Sly James, Kansas City MO

  • Stephanie Miner, Syracuse NY

  • Paul Soglin, Madison WI

  • Darrell Steinberg, Sacramento CA

  • Byron Brown, Buffalo NY

  • Ron Nirenberg, San Antonio TX

  • Jenny Durkan, Seattle WA

  • Ted Wheeler, Portland OR

  • John Cranley, Cincinnati OH

To learn more about the wide array of constituencies supporting nondiscrimination in advance of the Masterpiece oral arguments, visit www.OpenToAll.com.