Mayors Against LGBT Discrimination Roster Climbs to Nearly 200 in 43 States Posted on January 23, 2017

In the week since the public launch of Mayors Against LGBT Discrimination in Washington, D.C., more than a dozen new mayors have voiced their support, signing up as coalition members. The coalition now stands at a total of 190 mayors in 43 states, plus the District of Columbia.

The new mayors include Francis Slay of St, Louis, MO; Mike Rawlings of Dallas, TX; Sam Liccardo of San Jose, CA; and Mitch Landrieu of New Orleans, LA. Louisiana is now the forty-third state represented by the coalition.

This week Mayor Mike Rawlings tweeted his support:

Mayors Against LGBT Discrimination is a broad-based, nonpartisan coalition comprised of local officials who support equal protections and fair treatment for all LGBT people. With 32 states still lacking comprehensive protections for LGBT people and increasing uncertainty surrounding new federal policies, it is more crucial than ever to continue building support at the local level. Mayors Against LGBT Discrimination aims to provide support and resources that can be implemented immediately in order to advance equality and affirm the dignity of all.