Mayors Against LGBT Discrimination Welcomes Two New Co-Chairs! Posted on June 11, 2018

Our Mayors Against LGBT Discrimination coalition is proud to welcome two new co-chairs to leadership positions, continuing to keep momentum moving forward as we work toward full lived equality for LGBTQ people.

The two new co-chairs are Mayor Sly James of Kansas City, MO, and Mayor Jenny Durkan of Seattle, WA.

Both offered statements upon taking up their new positions.

Mayor Sly James:

“If we truly believe in freedom and justice for all, then there is no room for discrimination in any form against our friends, family, and co-workers, who are LGBTQIA. It is time to unite and advocate for fair and equal treatment of all people in Kansas City and every other part of this country. I look forward to advocating for the LGBT community as co-chair of Mayors Against LGBT Discrimination and ensuring that everyone is welcome and supported in every community across the country.”

Mayor Jenny Durkan

“As mayor, I take seriously my responsibility to ensure that all Seattle residents can work hard, provide for their families, and live their most authentic lives without fear of discrimination. I look forward to continuing to stand up for LGBT people and for the values of fairness and equality in my role as co-chair of Mayors Against LGBT Discrimination. When we treat everyone with respect and dignity at home, our local communities thrive.”

These two mayors step into the shoes of former San Francisco Mayor Ed Lee, a founding member of the coalition who tragically  passed away last year. Mayors Durkan and James join Mayor Jim Kenney from Philadelphia, PA and Mayor Muriel Bowser from Washington, D.C.

Both mayors become co-chairs shortly in advance of the U.S. Conference of Mayors, which took place in Boston over the weekend.  Mayors Against LGBT Discrimination held a brief meeting during the conference.

Mayors Against LGBT Discrimination is a program of Freedom for All Americans, the bipartisan campaign to secure nondiscrimination protections for LGBT Americans nationwide.