Texas Mayors Against LGBT Discrimination Oppose Bill to Revoke LGBT Protections Posted on April 19, 2017

Today three Texas mayors who are part of the Mayors Against LGBT Discrimination coalition of nearly 250 mayors across the country released the below statement on HB 2899. HB 2899 would prohibit cities across Texas from passing measures that protect transgender people from discrimination in restrooms, and would even void existing protections that do just that in Austin, Dallas, El Paso, Fort Worth, and San Antonio. The bill was introduced in the Texas House of Representatives last week and is scheduled for its first committee hearing today, April 19.

The statement can be attributed to Mayor Steve Adler, Austin; Mayor Sylvester Turner, Houston; and Mayor Jess Herbst, New Hope, the first openly transgender state official in Texas. Collectively, these mayors represent more than 3 million constituents.

“As mayors, we are best positioned to make decisions that protect our communities and allow all our citizens to thrive. In addition to creating an unprecedented level of unfair treatment towards people who are transgender, HB 2899 would take power out of the hands of local officials who know what’s best for their constituents. This bill is an insidious piece of legislation that serves no purpose other than to single out transgender people for discrimination in the Lone Star State. It is a threat to our Texan values of freedom, fairness, and individual liberty, and has no place in the state legislature.”

Mayors Against LGBT Discrimination is a a broad-based, nonpartisan coalition comprised of local officials who support equal protections and fair treatment for all LGBT people. The coalition launched at the U.S. Conference of Mayors in January in Washington, DC and currently includes 242 mayors from 46 states and the District of Columbia.